Clashes, low prove mar NA 240 by-poll in Karachi

The counting of votes is presently underway in NA-240. Picture: Radio Pakistan.  

KARACHI: The counting of votes is presently underway as polling for by-elections in Karachi’s NA-240 constituency concluded on Thursday amid violent clashes.

The voting course of for the by-elections for the NA-240 seat continued uninterrupted from 8am to 5pm.

The seat fell vacant after the loss of life of MQM-P MNA Muhammad Ali Khan this 12 months on April 19. The constituency contains areas of Korangi District’s Landhi.

PSP chief Anis Kaimkhani’s automobile shot at throughout by-polls

The automobile of Pak Sarzameen Social gathering (PSP) chief Anis Kaimkhani was fired upon within the metropolis’s Korangi space throughout the by-election for a Nationwide Meeting constituency.

The incident occurred because the political actions heightened within the NA-240 constituency on Thursday night, with political events eyeing to win the NA seat.

Thankfully, the PSP chief was not within the automobile when it was shot at. The police cellular transferring together with Kaimkhani was additionally fired upon.

Violent clashes

Other than this, the constituency additionally witnessed violence throughout the day, with members of political events clashing with polling officers. Firing incidents additionally occurred at totally different factors within the constituency.

However the voting continued uninterrupted until 5 pm. Earlier within the day, Deputy Returning Officer (DRO) Nadeem Haider visited all of the polling stations and inspected the preparations.

Chatting with the press, Haider stated that each one preparations made by the ECP have been full and added that  309 polling stations have been arrange for the by-election.

 Of those, 203 polling stations have been declared “extremely delicate” by the Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP), and the remaining 106 polling stations have been declared “delicate”.

The DRO additional acknowledged that CCTV cameras have been put in at extraordinarily delicate polling stations, whereas the police and Rangers personnel have been additionally current there.

In the meantime, Ok-Electrical had been directed to make sure an uninterrupted energy provide within the constituency from June 15 to 17.

The MQM-P is more likely to retain the NA-240 by-election if previous efficiency and the ethnic composition of a constituency are legitimate yardsticks to go by. Nevertheless, it’s laborious to foretell something with certainty contemplating the present state of politics in Karachi.

The MQM-P has fielded the occasion’s coordination committee member, Muhammad Abu Bakar, as its candidate and managed to muster help from the JUI-F. The Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) has fielded Shahzada Shahbaz, alias Shahzada Kashif, for the by-poll, The Information reported.

The PTI, which presently has most MNAs from Karachi, has boycotted the by-polls, and the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), which has been working a marketing campaign for the rights of Karachi, can also be not participating within the election.

The MQM-Haqiqi (MQM-H) has fielded Rafiuddin Faisal and PPP has fielded Nasir Lodhi. The PML-N has introduced help for the PPP candidate.

On the ticket of Pak Sarzameen Social gathering (PSP), Shabbir Qaimkhani is within the fray. The constituency contains 529,855 voters, together with 294,385 male and 235,470 feminine voters.

In accordance with an announcement issued by the ECP, the poll papers had been printed and CCTV cameras have been put in at delicate polling stations. Police are deployed at each polling station, whereas the Rangers personnel are serving as a ‘fast response power’.

Previous election outcomes

The MQM-P’s Khan had received the NA-240 seat within the 2018 basic elections by securing 61,165 votes, defeating TLP’s Muhammad Asif, who had bagged 30,535 votes, and the PTI’s Farrukh Manzoor, who had acquired 29,939 votes.

The JI’s Abdul Jamil Khan, who had contested the polls beneath the banner of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, had secured over 19,000 votes, whereas MQM-H chief Afaq Ahmed had bagged over 14,000 votes, and the PPP’s Mohammad Feroze had acquired over 7,000 votes. The PSP had secured 6,661 votes.

also read..

New relief measures announced by K-Electric to help consumers in ‘particularly tough’ times

News Editor

PMC ordered to extend registration deadline of MDCAT 2020 till Nov 6

News Editor

Karachi likely to receive another spell of rain next week

News Editor

PIA plane crash survivor says flight was ‘smooth’ until it crashed

News Editor

Another teenage girl reported as missing in Karachi

News Editor

Taliban reiterate resolve not to let Afghan soil be used against anyone

News Editor