By-polls on 20 seats of ex-PTI MPAs on July 17

LAHORE: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday announced that by-elections on 20 seats of the Punjab Assembly that fell vacant after de-notification of 25 Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MPAs will be held on July 17.

A notification issued by the ECP says the returning officers of relevant constituencies will issue a public notice of the by-polls on May 31 and nominations will be received between June 4 and 7.

Lists of the nominated candidates will be issued on June 8 and scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held by June 11. The last date for filing of appeals against acceptance or rejection of nominations by the returning officers will be June 15 and the appellate tribunal will decide the same on June 21.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan notification, the revised lists of candidates will be published on June 22 and candidates may withdraw their nominations by June 23, while election symbols will be allotted to the contesting candidates on June 24. Polling will be held on July 17.

The seats on which the by-polls will be held are: PP-7 Rawalpindi-II; PP-83 Khu­shab-II; PP-90 Bhakkar-II; PP-97 Faisalabad-I; PP-125 Jhang-II; PP-127 Jhang-IV, PP-140 Sheikhupura-VI; PP-158 Lahore-XV; PP-167, 168 and 170, Lahore-XXIV, XXIV and XXVI; PP-202 Sahiwal-VII; PP-217 Multan-VII; PP-224 Lodhran-I; PP-228 Lodhran-V; PP-237 Bahawalnagar-I; PP-272 and 273, Muzaffargarh-V, VI; PP-282 Layyah-III; and PP-288 Dera Ghazi Khan-IV.

also read..

Dread the day when I’ll be back on streets, warns PM Imran

News Editor

India should mind its own business, Taliban

Shahbaz Sharif says no to electronic voting machines proposal

News Editor

Pakistan, Saudi Arabia on same page regarding Israel: FM Qureshi

News Editor

COVID-19 outbreak: Eid holidays begin in Pakistan amid pandemic

News Editor

First all-private astronaut team aboard space station heads for splashdown

News Editor